SAIT Polytechnic, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology is a public institution located in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. With its establishment in 1916, it became the second oldest post-secondary institution in Calgary.

MacEwan University is a public university situated in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. It was founded in 1971 as Grant MacEwan Community College. It was named after John Walter Grant MacEwan, the 9th Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

Mount Royal University, shortly termed as MRU, is a public university situated in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. It was established in 1910 as a primary and secondary school. In 1931, after becoming a post-secondary institution, its name was changed to Mount Royal Junior College.

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, shortly termed as NAIT, is a public institute of applied sciences situated in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. NAIT focuses on applied education, technical training, applied research and innovations to meet the technical demands of Alberta.

The University of Calgary, also known as U of C and UCalgary, is one of the top Canadian public research universities situated in Calgary, Alberta. It was first started as the part of the University of Alberta in 1945, but later was separated in 1966.

University of Lethbridge, shortly termed as uLethbridge, uLeth, and U of L, is a public research university located in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada. It was founded in 1967. The first undergraduate degree in the liberal arts was awarded in 1968.

The University of Alberta (U of T) is a public institution located in Alberta in Western Canada. It was founded in 1908 by the first chief of Alberta, Alexander Cameron Rutherford and Henry Marshall Tory, first president of the university.